Inspirations

As I was sitting here writing my second book, I began thinking about the books and authors who inspired me the most.

One of the first novels that I fell in love with was Fahrenheit 451.  The imagery of a world where books are burned terrified me and still does.  After reading it, I immediately went out and bought The Martian Chronicles, which was written by Ray Bradbury as well.  It remains one of my all time favorite books.

I became obsessed with Sci-fi and moved directly onto the works of Arthur C. Clarke.  The man was a genius and when I learned of his death several years back, I mourned for the loss.  I read the Space Odyssey and Rama series.  Then moved on to Childhood’s End.  In my opinion, no one has ever wrote better science fiction.  My dad had gotten me a library card because I couldn’t afford to buy books to feed my new obsession.  The library…I rarely go there today, but to me it is the most peaceful place.  I love the smell of books, the thought of being surrounded by so many worlds.

Later on, I discovered Deborah Chester while browsing the sci-fi section at the book store.  It’s so vivid in my mind.  I’d been waiting for the release of her third book in the Alien Chronicles.  I was maybe 16 and my boyfriend had broken up with me.  It had been a hard week.  When I was browsing the shelves, I found that it had been released.  I literally started jumping up and down in the middle of the bookstore.  A book had just made life start to get better.

After reading her sci-fi entries, I moved onto her fantasy novels.  A whole new genre to love.

Micheal Romkey…I’d happened upon his series by chance.  This started my great love affair with vampire novels.  His wonderful books paved the way for me to later get into Anne Rice, Stephanie Meyer, and Charlaine Harris.

I have no illusions about my work.  I know my first efforts will not be masterpieces like the authors’ books I mentioned.  But I will keep on writing.  Every one of these writers, that I will probably never meet, has already changed my life.

About Jez Strider

Author of the Vamp Life series available at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

