So hateful it’s hilarious….

For my day job I work as a cashier at a grocery store chain in the southeastern U.S.  I hadn’t had any rude customers or anything until…Mister Crankypants showed up.  

The customer uses his debit card.  Near the end of the process it asks “Is this amount okay?”  Often times, and I’ve done it myself, customers forget to press yes.  So I very kindly tell him it’s asking him to press yes.  I had no attitude.  I’ve never had a customer complain about me.  I can grin and bear it through the worst people.  

“I can see!”  The man retorts, then proceeds to hit the button.

I’m dumbfounded and surprised by the aggressive nature of this older gentleman.  I figured we are done at this point.  No such luck.  The register tells me that he has entered his PIN number wrong.

“It’s saying your PIN number was wrong.” I say, once again polite and smiling.

“No it’s not!  Your machine is wrong!”  He tells me.

Once again, I’m surprised by the response.

“Would you like to put it in again?”  I ask, in no way disagreeing that perhaps the machine was wrong and it was not his user error.

“No, but I will anyway!”  

Thankfully, the transaction is approved and he leaves directly.  My “Thank you” and “Have a nice day” dictating no response apparently.

I didn’t get my feelings hurt or get angry because it was so amusing.  My personal philosophy is to always be kind to  people because you don’t know what’s going on in their lives and perhaps just a little kindness will make their day better.  I know I’ve had strangers be nice to me and it helped when things were rough.  I don’t know what justified his hateful response…but he was certainly hilarious in his delivery.

About Jez Strider

Author of the Vamp Life series available at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

