Respecting our elders…and each other in general.

A few days ago at work, I had an experience with a customer that really disturbed me.

I was working in the express checkout and an older lady brought a buggy over the limit of 10 items through.  No big deal to me.  During the process we’re talking and she mentions she’ll be 90 years old on her birthday.  We’re almost finished with the transaction when another customer comes into the line.  She’s a regular and she often has a bit of an attitude problem.

She starts being blatantly rude at the elder lady.

“Isn’t this suppose to be 10 items or less?”

“Apparently some people can’t read!”

It disgusted me.  

One…if you’re in that big of a hurry, get out of the grocery store.

Two…that poor lady has been around for 90 years.  She’s, no doubt, had to endure many hardships.  If she wants to go through my line, she’s perfectly welcome to do so.  I mean, the rude lady behind her may have had to wait, 5 extra minutes?  

Being in a hurry is definitely no excuse for hurting another person’s feelings.

Anyway, I hope I never disrespect anyone so severely.

About Jez Strider

Author of the Vamp Life series available at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

