A Book and a Game

Recently I’ve had the time to enjoy a couple of my favorite things.  Books and games are my hobby of choice.  Both let you get lost in another world.

Disclaimer:  These are not official reviews as I’m just mentioning something I like, not dissecting every aspect.

Wool by Hugh Howey

Wool by Hugh Howey

The book I sat down and read was Wool by Hugh Howey.  I’d had the story on my Kindle for a while, but finally found the time to read the first installment.  It was right up my alley.  Dystopian is one of my favorite types of books.  I’ve mentioned the genre before when talking about the movie Equilibrium and novels such as 1984 by George Orwell and Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.

The Wool series is worth checking out and it’s a great price.

 

mass effect

Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect 3…. (Mostly spoiler free comments.)  I finally finished the last game in the series.  It’s been a long journey through space.  The game has been out for quite a while.  After some of the harsh criticism and the fact that my saves from the previous games were on the Xbox 360, I held off on the purchase until I found a great PC deal.

I’m not going to say the game was perfect, but for me, the complaints of the 1 star reviews mostly don’t apply.  I loved it.  The choice I made and the ending worked well for me.  I beat it once and when I realized one of my rating factors wasn’t high enough, I played from a save point to get the one that satisfied me.  The ending wasn’t easy on the emotions, but I guess that’s kind of the point.  Decisions are supposed to have consequences.

To me, it’s supposed to end how the game maker/writers want it to end.  It’s their project.  If someone came up to me and told me to change my book ending, I’d be pretty resistant.  I do believe that the extended cut was a necessity and I can see why the people who bought the game at launch were upset.  The extended cut didn’t really change the ending, but added more depth and fixed a few things leading up to it.

I’m planning on playing all three games again.  It was well worth the time invested, but I am glad I waited a few months to pick it up.

About Jez Strider

Author of the Vamp Life series available at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Books/Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

