The Hobbit!

Today was the day we ended our long, unintended streak of not going to the movie theater.  It has probably been about four years since I went to the movies.  The last time I went was either to watch The Dark Knight or one of the older Harry Potter movies.

I like going, but I do not like the price.  I also prefer the comfort of home.  I paid for a ticket, but there was no way I was going to let them price gouge me on popcorn.  For what a large bag of popcorn and drink would have cost, we were able to get two footlong subs, a small bag of chips, and a drink at Subway.  I have a popcorn popper at home and I know how cheap popcorn is!  *shakes fist in anger*

Anyway, The Hobbit was plenty of incentive to get me to the movies.  I had seen all the Lord of the Rings films in theater and I wasn’t about to break a tradition that started when I was in high school.

The movie was exactly what I was expecting and I wasn’t disappointed.  The acting, storyline, and special effects were great.  We don’t have an Imax close so that wasn’t an option for us.  We opted not to see the movie in 3d because it didn’t really appeal to us.  I don’t think the movie was quite as good as The Fellowship of the Ring.  There were just too many memorable characters and we had never seen a movie quite like it before.  I’m looking forward to seeing the next two films and I am remembering exactly how much it sucks to have to wait for the completion of a series!

There is just something about watching the world created by J.R.R Tolkien on screen.  I’m just glad it’s always done well because the books deserve no less.  It is amazing what a wonderful author he was.  His world comes to life because when he wrote he made it a living, breathing world.  They’re not just characters, they’re people you care and want to learn more about.

So, from a person who never goes to the movies, this one is worth it.  No way I was waiting months to see it on Blu-Ray!  Radagast is awesome so that would have been enough reason for me.

About Jez Strider

Author of the Vamp Life series available at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hobbit!

  1. sophiebowns says:

    I’ve just come back from watching “The Hobbit” it was awesome but a very long film! Stiil it was worth it! Great review !

  2. Jez Strider says:

    Thanks! It is long. That’s one of the reasons I like watching movies at home. You can pause if need be!

Leave a Reply

