Post Christmas Game Recommendations 2012

This holiday season I have picked up several great games due to the sales.  I thought I’d list my favorite picks and a little about them. These are all PC recommendations.

Scribblenauts Unlimited :  I had been wanting this game since it was announced for computer since I am primarily a PC gamer.  It is great for all ages since it is fun and can be a bit educational.  The simple graphics style makes it a good option even if your computer isn’t a high end rig.  The goal of the game is to create objects and adjectives by typing in words to solve the issues in the world.  A simple concept, but ceaselessly enjoyable.  The more creatively the puzzles are solved, the more amusement gotten in return.  My boyfriend and I both bought the game and we are always asking, “What did you do?” Just to compare and see how the other’s brain works.

LEGO Lord of the Rings: This game was released at the perfect time for me. Since I had just recently watch The Hobbit, I was in the mood for some more Lord of the Rings. The game follows the entire LotR Trilogy and it is incredibly cute. If you have played a Lego game before you know what to expect. This one is my favorite to date because it is LotR. It is also a good looking game and atmospheric. Very easy on the eyes. I would not recommended playing with a keyboard unless you rebind a lot of keys. The default layout is odd. (J for jump? No, thanks.) Just plug in a controller and you’re good to go.

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare:  Chivalry is a surprise.  A game with no campaign and first person melee multiplayer?  I was very skeptical.  Not my genre or my usual preference.  In short, though, it rocks.  It’s not about who gets the jump on the other person.  Real skill is involved.  Classes, blocking, attacks, and accuracy.  There are a ton of game modes as well.  I would highly recommended this game to anyone who needs a break from Call of Duty and is looking for some new, fun multiplayer action.  Plus, you can chop heads and limbs off.  That’s gory good fun.

The Secret World :  I have played pretty much every MMO out there, including this one back when it was released.  It held me for about a month.  I liked it, but not enough to justify playing longer than the free 30 days.  Recently, the game has dropped the subscription fee unless you want to pay it for minor perks like item store discounts.  They adopted a Guild Wars type free model, not a pay-to-win.  It the model of a new era of MMO.  (Thank you Guild Wars!)  I think the best thing about the game is the setting.  Every MMORPG out there is set in traditional fantasy, but this one is modern times with a twist!

The game is not without issues, but it is fun and challenging at times.  If you run into a lot of hitching and lag, play it on DirectX 9 instead of 11.  It isn’t optimized for 11.

About Jez Strider

Author of the Vamp Life series available at Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Books/Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

